poplafarm.blogg.se

Cardi b statue
Cardi b statue








I’d Googled this Freedom yacht and had reason to believe it was a giant boat, but it turns out to be the kind of wood-paneled barge that they put restaurants in. There’s no food here - Miami parties don’t seem to have snacks like New York parties - so I leave after hearing David Zwirner’s fête on the Freedom yacht still has passed canapes. No one notices him, and he leaves after ten minutes. This is one of three times I’ll see him at a party this week, and each time he does the exact same thing: enters with a polite but detached expression that falls into a sort of wistful disappointment, as if he had been expecting to meet a friend and been stood up. (He is vague about his line of work but owns a lot of Rolexes and Ferraris.) Chris knows “absolutely nothing about NFTs” but wants to buy one, has a budget of $10,000 (“little baby has a mortgage”), and when I ask him what he’d get for $10,000, he says “a picture on a screen” and seems pretty satisfied with that.Ī Burberry-clad DJ at the W Magazine DJ stand.Ī bit later, Jared Leto comes in wearing Gucci and the pensive air of someone who meditates a lot. He has a babyish, cherubic face, mostly wears Louis Vuitton tracksuits, and is always in the market for the next big thing. One of those influencers, who I believe is named Camila Coelho, looks dazed when I mention NFTs, but soon I bump into my friend Chris*, the perfect person for my inquiry. (Kloss is an investor in W magazine, whose party this is, even though everyone is calling it the Burberry party, in spite of the fact that W has branded everything from the napkins to the pool floats.) Security guards duck and weave through the crowd, which is a self-conscious 10 p.m. Karli Kloss towers over Josh Kushner, who is drinking a Blue Moon and glancing slantwise at Rita Ora. All of the famous people are sequestered in a dark corner of the garden. All week, I’ve been getting invitations to things like the “Bitchcoin Salon” and “metaversal immersions” - events boasting a close gathering of leaders in “tech, philanthropy, and art,” which sounded terrible.ĭetermined to avoid parties hosted by crypto exchanges and VC firms, I find myself on Thursday night at a $34 million home on Sunset Island. The well-established artists I speak with throughout the week seem to all but sneer at the idea - “I’m staying away from all of that,” Kehinde Wiley tells me, his expression wary, while Judy Chicago barks a laugh and says “not interested.” Still, an explanation of the whole thing eludes me, and while my assignment isn’t technically to learn about NFTs, I figure now is as good a time as any. At the fair, there are a handful of dumb art pieces that seem to get close to being the item du jour - the banana guy has returned with a bunch of expensive dead pigeons, another man is trying to sell cups of coffee for $1,000 a pop, and a third actually does sell a gold-plated avocado bagel for $2.9 million (“I wanted to make a sculpture that froze the zeitgeist,” said the 29-year-old artist in a press release).īut the thing everyone seems to be talking about is NFTs. Throughout the week, people can be seen lining up for several hours to get a colorful newspaper from a Saint Laurent activation on the beach and/or carrying the Ruinart tote featuring David Shrigley’s worm painting. There is no $120,000 rotting banana that takes this year’s Art Basel by storm. Photo: Frazer Harrison/Getty Images for Playboy Enterprises International, Inc. Julia Fox eating cake off of a performer at Playboy’s BIGBUNNY launch.










Cardi b statue